Professional Development Committee

Committee Officers:
Chair Kevin Comerford New Mexico State University
Members David Cox New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
Valerie Nye Santa Fe Community College
Markos Chavez University of New Mexico – Gallup
Josephine Sena New Mexico Highlands University

This committee coordinates professional development opportunities for the NMCAL membership by:

  • Identifying and soliciting professional development topics of interest to academic librarians to be presented at NMLA mini-, NMLA annual, NMCAL retreats, and other appropriate venues.
  • Making appropriate arrangements for professional development sessions.
  • Overseeing and coordinating the professional development scholarship program, including reviewing applications and awarding scholarships.